Published in hardback (in a thick "annual" type format) September 1939

Credited as 'specially written by Flying Officer W. E. Johns' - 160 pages


This book consists of 31 chapters, all illustrated with many black and white line drawings and the occasional map. The book has three lovely full page colour plates. The chapters are all from articles that Johns wrote for "The Modern Boy" magazine, usually under the heading of

'They Flew the Jolly Roger'.

The contents of the book are, somewhat strangely, listed in alphabetical order rather than numerically, but I have listed the chapters in the order they appear in the book.


The First of the Pirates - Page 3

The Red-Bearded Brothers - Page 13

Outlaw of the Seven Seas - Page 23

Under the Black Flag! - Page 27

Blood and Gold - Page 33

Blackbeard - Page 37

Portuguese Bart - Page 40

Sea Dogs of Devon - Page 47

The Truth about Captain Kidd - Page 53

The Voyage of the Victoire - Page 57

Petticoat Pirates - Page 60

The Brethren of the Coast - Page 63

Cutlasses and Culverins - Page 68

Wolves of the Western Seas - Page 69

Eastward Ho! - Page 76

One Ship Sailed On - Page 83

The Prince who was a Pirate - Page 89

Morgan the Mighty - Page 93

The Reluctant Buccaneer - Page 101

Strange Company - Page 107

Flown from the Masthead - Page 112

Eight Paces East - Page 114

No Quarter - Page 123

Ordeal by Storm - Page 128

Marooned! - Page 133

Pirate Gold - Page 139

They Died Young - Page 140

The End of the Voyage - Page 147

The Trail of the Pirates - Page 151

The Ships they Sailed - Page 155

Corsairs of the China Coast - Page 157


Modern Boy's Book of Pirates

Subtitle - none (NB - There is no word "The" in front of the title)

Publication Details - originally published by Weekly Telegraph Novel


Front Cover Board of the Original first (and only) edition – click on the above picture to enlarge


The dustjacket that originally came with the book clearly showed the original price of 5 shillings